Bruno Mars’ Moonshine Jungle Tour: June 2014

Bruno Mar's Concert Ticket for St. Paul, MN
I would have felt like I was locked out of heaven if I had missed this show!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You may not realize it, but Bruno Mars has risen to the top in recent years with more chart topping radio hits than my two hands can count! Bruno Mars most noteworthy hits include: “Treasure,” “Grenade,” “Just the Way You Are,” “Locked Out of Heaven,” “It Will Rain”(from the Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 1 soundtrack), “When I Was Your Man,” “Marry You,” “The Lazy Song,” “Count on Me,” “Talking to the Moon,” and “Runaway Baby.”

Bruno Mars, the native Hawaiian stands at a mere “5,5,” but don’t let his small stature fool you. He is anything but small. For starters, it is very apparent that he hails from Hawaii with his straw beach hats, flower t-shirts, and his signature pompadour hairstyle. It is also apparent that Bruno Mars is a powerhouse of talent. His vocal abilities are amazing and he has a wide octave range. He is full of energy and loves to dance. He constantly encouraged the crowd to get up and dance to his highly infectious dance hits.

When Bruno is not singing and dancing, he is playing the guitar, piano, and the drums. He toggled between these instruments during the show and I was blown away by the sheer amount of talent it takes to learn to play all of these instruments. Last, but not least, let’s not forget that Bruno is also a songwriter! These songs have to come from somewhere and that somewhere just happens to be from Bruno’s mind. From a music aficionado standpoint, I have a much greater appreciation and respect for singers and bands that write their own songs.

Another very interesting things about Bruno Mars, is his ability to bring together a very diverse audience. I looked around the venue and saw a lot of diversity. The crowd had a wide range of ages, genders, and ethnicities. I looked next to me and there was a woman who looked old enough to be considered a senior citizen and she was wearing one of the promotional concert t-shirts. It was pink with a picture of Bruno’s trademark pompadour with the song title, “Locked Out of Heaven.” I was making friendly conversation with the people next to me and it turns out that it was a family affair for some of the concert goers. I believe the female senior citizen was there with her daughter, son-in-law, and granddaughter. If I recall correctly, I gave her a compliment. “I wish my grandma was as hip as you!” I believe the senior citizen couldn’t give enough accolades to Bruno Mars.

Bruno definitely deserves the accolades. The other thing that Bruno has in spades? An unabashed sense of sensuality. Bruno performed his very sensually explicit hit, “Gorilla.” I had actually never heard this song until he performed it. When I heard some of the lyrics, I was thinking “Whoa! I wonder what the grandma-aged woman next to me is thinking about this song?!” I would be embarrassed if my grandma caught me listening to this kind of music! I was raised by a fairly conservative mother, so that conservatism could have been coming out at that moment.

At a later point in the show, Bruno was trying to encourage the crowd to enjoy the next song with their significant other, but he also acknowledged the single ladies. Bruno spoke to the ladies and told them it was okay if they didn’t have a man because “we got you!” His army of accompanying singers and dancers broke out into sexy stripper moves! The crowd liked it so much that they performed the dance move several times and we all laughed.

Bruno’s stage presence was simply magnetic and so was the stage setup. There was a very impressive light show and even a few fireworks. Bruno propelled himself using an extending stage rafter and was hanging above the general admission seating area. As this concert was now four months ago, if I recall correctly, he also ran out into the crowd to be with the fans. Unfortunately, my lower level seating area did not get reached! Ah, such is life.

All in all, this concert was definitely worth the money. If you are looking to sing, dance, and be thoroughly entertained, you should definitely see a Bruno Mars show.

Leave a comment